Did BJP get only 201 votes in Muslim-majority Lakshadweep?


Claim: The BJP obtained only 201 votes in the 2024 Lakshadweep Lok Sabha elections.
Fact: The declare is deceptive. The BJP didn’t area a candidate in Lakshadweep in 2024. It only allied with the Ajit Pawar faction of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) whose candidate received 201 votes.

Hyderabad: Following the declaration of the 2024 Lok Sabha election outcomes, a number of social media customers claimed that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) obtained only 201 votes in the Lakshadweep elections.

Lakshadweep is a Union Territory (UT) off the southwestern coast of mainland India ruled immediately by the Union authorities. The declare relies on the assertion that Lakshadweep has a 96 per cent Muslim inhabitants, which many alleged, prompted the low variety of votes for the BJP.

“In Lakshadweep, where Muslims are 96%, BJP has got only 201 votes, which clearly shows that Muslims are not in favour of development. No matter how much Prime Minister Narendra Modi does for Abdul, the truth is that he will not vote,” wrote an X consumer who made the communal claim. (Archive)

Fact Check

NewsMeter discovered that the declare is deceptive, because the BJP didn’t area a candidate in Lakshadweep in 2024. It only allied with the Ajit Pawar faction of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) which fielded a candidate in Lakshadweep in 2024.

We started with a key phrase search and located a report by The Hindu dated June 4. According to the report, the primary contest in Lakshadweep was between the Congress social gathering and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA); the NDA, by the NCP, fielded TP Yousuf in Lakshadweep.

See also
Personality Test

Meanwhile, the Nationalist Congress Party-Sharadchandra Pawar (NCP-SP) social gathering and the Congress social gathering – members of the INDIA bloc – had been additionally contesting in opposition to one another in Lakshadweep.

In the top, Congress candidate Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed received the Lakshadweep Lok Sabha elections in 2024. The incumbent MP, Mohammed Faizal Padippura of NCP-SP, misplaced to him by a margin of two,647 votes. Yousuf TP of NCP obtained only 201 votes, which many declare to be BJP’s vote rely in Lakshadweep.

We confirmed the identical on the web site of the Election Commission of India (ECI).

According to the ECI data on the outcomes in Lakshadweep, Congress candidate Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed obtained 25,726 votes, the NCP-SP candidate Mohammed Faizal obtained 23,079 votes, NCP candidate Yousuf TP obtained 201 votes and the impartial candidate Koya obtained 61 votes.

How did the declare originate?

On January 4 this 12 months, prime minister Narendra Modi posted photos on his X account of a latest journey to Lakshadweep the place he tried his hand at snorkelling. This transfer was a part of BJP’s twin technique to draw votes and promote Lakshadweep as a primary tourism vacation spot.

According to the Lakshadweep administration’s official website, Lakshadweep has a Muslim inhabitants of over 93 per cent as per the 2011 census.

Hence, by sharing images of PM Modi snorkelling in Lakshadweep, many social customers claimed that the BJP was not in a position to make any features in the UT regardless of PM Modi’s try and market it personally.

However, for the reason that BJP didn’t immediately contest the Lok Sabha polls in Lakshadweep, we conclude that the declare is deceptive.

See also
What is Zawaaj


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WordPress Cookie Notice by Real Cookie Banner